May 16 Storm Debris Pick Up
give feedback
alert diamond Report it!

Municipal Court

Contact Us
979-337-7599 - phone
979-337-7504 - fax

Court Hours
Monday - Friday 8 am - 4:30 pm

Mailing:
PO Box 1059
Brenham, Texas 77834-1059

Physical: 
200 W. Vulcan St.
Brenham, Texas 77833
 
 
  • If you plan to take a driver safety course or deferred disposition you must make this request with the court in writing or in person. DO NOT pay online.
  • If you are submitting a plea of no contest or guilty it will result in a conviction on your record and you can pay the citation online.

    Pay Citation Online

If you have been charged with an offense within the jurisdiction of the City of Brenham Municipal Court, you must make an appearance in person or by mail within 10 working days after the date on your citation. A telephone call does not constitute an appearance and will not prevent the issuance of a warrant.

If you wish to appear in person, or if you wish to provide extenuating circumstances for the judge to consider when setting your fine, arraignments are held every Wednesday at 9:45 a.m. at the City of Brenham Municipal Court, 200 W. Vulcan Street. If you wish to take care of your citation by mail, please use the REPLY FORM located at the bottom of the citation.

Download
Plea reply form

Police officers can not answer questions about fine amounts or court procedures. Do not call the Police Department -- this matter is now under the jurisdiction of the Municipal Court.

A Plea of GUILTY means that you admit that the act is prohibited by law, that you committed the act charged, and that you have no legal defense for your act. You should understand the following: You are innocent until proven guilty. Your plea of guilty may be used against you later in a civil suit. (e.g., if there was a traffic accident another party can say you were at fault or responsible for the accident because you pled guilty to the traffic charge.

You may pay a municipal court fine in full online using a Visa, Mastercard, or Discover. You will be asked to give your citation number and date of birth or enter the vehicle information to access a current account.

A Plea of NO CONTEST means that you do not contest the charge against you. You will almost certainly be found guilty unless you are eligible and successfully complete a driving safety course and/or deferred disposition. Also, a plea of no contest cannot be used against you in a subsequent civil suit for damages.

If you plead guilty or nolo contendere (no contest), you must include a waiver of a jury trial. The full fine may be paid by mail or in person by cashier's check, money order, or credit card. (See attached Reply Form.)

A Plea of NOT GUILTY means that you deny guilt or that you have a defense in your case, and the State must prove the charges against you. If you plead not guilty, you will need to decide whether to hire an attorney or represent yourself.

If you plead NOT GUILTY, the court will schedule a jury trial unless you waive that right, and then the trial will be before the judge. Jury trials are held every other month. The court will send you a notice setting the date of your jury trial. (See attached REPLY FORM.)

For more information, please contact the Court at 979-337-7599. The Court is located at 200 W. Vulcan, Brenham, TX 77834-1059. The fax number is 979-337-7504.

Additional Resources



Fines

The maximum fine for most traffic violations is $200 and criminal offenses can go up to $500 in addition to court costs set by the state legislature. Violations of city ordinances may carry a maximum fine of up to $2,000. The judge may assess the fine at his/her discretion within the fine range. Note: the Judge is not required to reduce your fine.

PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 542.404 OF THE TEXAS TRANSPORTATION CODE, FINES ARE DOUBLED FOR VIOLATIONS OCCURRING IN A CONSTRUCTION ZONE.

Court Costs

In addition to the fine, court costs mandated by state law will be charged. These costs, which differ depending on the offense, are included in the fines. The judge has no discretion to waive or reduce court costs. In addition, if a warrant was served or processed, you will be charged an additional warrant fee.

Court costs are assessed if you are found guilty, plead no contest, or if your case is deferred for a driver safety course. If you are found not guilty, court costs cannot be assessed. Fines may be increased on a second or subsequent violation or if the violation occurred in a school or construction zone. Contact the Court for any charges not listed below.

Schedule of Fines Effective January 1, 2020
   
Speeding Violations  Please See Speed Chart Below
   
Moving Violations  
Failure to Control Speed $226.00
Running Stop Sign/Red Light $226.00
Failure to Yield Right of Way $226.00
   
Driver License Violations  
No Driver's License $281.00
Driving While License Invalid $581.00
Permitting Unlicensed Driver to Drive $281.00
   
Seat Belt Violations  
No Seat Belt $184.00
Child Not Secured by Seatbelt $159.00
   
Other  
*Failure to Show Financial Responsibility $357.00
Parked in Handicapped Space $519.00

* Charges will be dismissed upon presentation to the Court of PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (Insurance) provided the Proof of Insurance was current at the time of the citation.

Speeding Chart
Effective 1-1-2020
 
MILES OVER LIMIT TOTAL COST
10 $207.00
11 $212.00
12 $217.00
13 $222.00
14 $227.00
15 $232.00
16 $237.00
17 $242.00
18 $247.00
19 $252.00
20 $257.00
21 $262.00
22 $267.00
23 $272.00
24 $277.00
25 $282.00
26 $287.00
27 $292.00
28 $297.00
29 $302.00
30 $307.00
31 $312.00
32 $317.00
33 $322.00
34 $327.00
35 $332.00
36 $332.00
37 $332.00
38 $332.00

Court by Mail

The following can be handled by mail

Driving Safety Course (DSC)

You may qualify for a mandatory deferral of a traffic citation by taking a Driving Safety Course which is approved by the Texas Education Agency.

To be eligible, you MUST

  • Have a valid Texas driver's license and insurance.
  • Have not completed a DSC course in the prior 12 months of receiving your citation for the purpose of ticket dismissal
  • Have not been cited for 25 mph or more over the speed limit
  • Defendants with a commercial drivers license are not eligible for Defensive Driving or Deferred Disposition.

VIOLATIONS OCCURRING IN A CONSTRUCTION ZONE WHILE WORKERS ARE PRESENT ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DCS OR DEFFERED DISPOSITION.

Submit the attached reply form (located at the bottom of the citation) within 10 working days of the offense along with the following items to the court:

  • Proof of liability insurance
  • Copy of valid Texas driver's license
  • Court cost amount of $144.00 in the form of a money order or cashier's check. If the offense occurred in a school zone, the court cost amount to include is $169.00
  • Within 90 days of being granted DSC, you will be required to present a certified copy of your driving record, a notarized affidavit to the court, and a certificate of completion.

DO NOT COMPLETE THE COURSE UNTIL THE COURT HAS GRANTED YOU THE PERMISSION TO DO SO.

Download

Compliance Dismissals

There are a number of citations that may be dismissed upon proof of compliance to the Court. Please review the Compliance Dismissal List.

Failure To Maintain Financial Responsibility

A citation for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (liability insurance) will be dismissed if written proof of financial responsibility is presented to the Court within 10 working days which is effective for the vehicle while it was being driven by the defendant at the time of the citation.


Appearing in Court

Jump to: Code of Conduct & Dress Code | During Arraignment

Code of Conduct & Dress Codes for Court Appearances

  1. Defendants shall show up no later than 15 minutes prior to court appearance.
  2. All electronic devices shall be in silent mode when entering the courtroom. Violating the rule may result in the seizure of the device and or a fine. (No reading of newspapers, books, use of game systems, laptops, iPads, electronic books, or similar devices.)
  3. No noise or talking that interferes with court proceedings. (Defendants and guests shall remain quiet during court proceedings ANYONE who disrupts or speaks aloud during court proceedings will be asked to sit in the lobby area until called into court.)
  4. No food or drink permitted.
  5. No tobacco use of any form.
  6. No firearms, knives (of any blade length), multi-tools, mace/pepper spray, knuckles, etc. is prohibited. *If you are unsure, ask the Marshal about the item.*
  7. The following clothing items are prohibited inside the courtroom:
    • Hats or caps (all types of headwear excluding religious headwear)
    • Sunglasses
    • Tube tops, halters, half shirts, muscle shirts, tank tops, or any shirt that allows the navel or bra to show
    • Shorts
    • Sagging pants (must be worn at the waist)
    • Skirts or dresses shorter than the knee
    • Any item of clothing that displays offensive, vulgar, racist, sexist, gang-related, obscene language and or graphics
    • Flip-flops, slides, house shoes or slippers

During Arraignment

THE FOLLOWING MUST BE HANDLED DURING THE ARRAIGNMENT PROCESS WITH THE JUDGE.

The Judge may choose one of these options at his/her discretion. He/she IS NOT required to offer you one of these choices:

  1. Payment plan (additional $25.00 fee)
  2. Community service
  3. Deferred disposition
  4. Personal recognizance (PR) bonds
  5. Any extension of time to comply with legal or Court requirements.
  6. Juvenile cases
  7. 30-day extension to pay

Compliance Dismissals

  • EXPIRED DRIVER'S LICENSE may be dismissed upon proof of renewal presented to the court within 20 working days from the date of the citation and payment of a $20. administrative fee.
  • EXPIRED INSPECTION CERTIFICATE that has not been expired over 60 days may be dismissed upon proof of renewal presented to the Court within 20 working days after the citation and payment of a $20.00 administrative fee; a defendant who receives the citation for an expired inspection certificate that has been expired over 60 days may make a plea and/or pay the fine amount.
  • EXPIRED REGISTRATION STICKER may be dismissed upon proof of renewal indicating that the penalty fee was paid to the Tax Office and presented to the Court within 20 working days with a $20.00 administrative fee paid to the Court.
  • FAIL TO REPORT CHANGE OF ADDRESS or Name may be dismissed upon proof that the address/name was changed and presented within 20 working days to the Court with a payment of a $10.00 administrative fee.
  • DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT may be dismissed upon presentation of proof of equipment repair. Presentation must be made before the first court appearance with payment of a $10.00 administrative fee.
  • FAIL TO DISPLAY DRIVER'S LICENSE may be dismissed upon presenting proof of a valid driver's license at the time of the offense and payment of a $10.00 administrative fee.
  • VIOLATION OF DRIVER'S LICENSE RESTRICTION may be dismissed if the restriction was due to a physical condition that was surgically corrected and DPS removed the restriction before the defendant's first court appearance with payment to the Court of a $10.00 administrative fee.
  • OPERATING A VEHICLE WITHOUT PLATES OR WITH ONE PLATE may be dismissed if the registration was current during the offense and registration insignia was attached to the car before the defendant's first court appearance with payment of a $10.00 administrative fee.
  • DISPLAY ALTERED, UNCLEAN, OR OBSCURED PLATES may be dismissed upon proof that the defect was remedied and presented to the Court before the first Court appearance and with payment of a $10.00 administrative fee.

Warrant Resolution

Contacts

  • Tiwanna Brown, Brenham Municipal Court Administrator 979-337-7500
  • Beth Schramm, JP Chief Clerk Precinct 1 979-277-6260
  • Kathy Fritz, JP Chief Clerk Precinct 3 979-277-6200 ext 132

Local Courts Join Hundreds of Law Enforcement Agencies Across Texas
For the State-Wide Warrant Resolution

BRENHAM, Texas - The Brenham Municipal Court in conjunction with Washington County Justice of the Peace Courts Precinct 1 Judge Doug Zweiner and Washington County Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 Judge Duane "Dane" Houston are among 300 law enforcement jurisdictions across Texas that participate in the Great Texas Warrant Resolution. These three Washington County jurisdictions will join forces to search for individuals with outstanding warrants.

Beginning in March, local law enforcement agencies will target those defendants with outstanding warrants. Authorities warn that arrests can take place at any location, including the defendant's home, school, or workplace.

Court officials are encouraging defendants to take advantage of the options available to resolve outstanding warrants. There will be no amnesty offered during the Warrant Resolution effort.

Notices are being mailed to all defendants with active warrants. Citizens with warrants in other jurisdictions should contact those jurisdictions for information about how to clear those warrants.

View the Frequently Asked Questions


Juveniles

The Municipal Court has jurisdiction over juveniles (16 years or younger) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses and traffic offenses except public intoxication. All juveniles are required to appear in open court for all proceedings on their cases. All persons 16 years of age or under must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. In the event of an alcohol or tobacco-related offense, all persons 17 years of age or under must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Juveniles who fail to appear in court may have an additional charge of failure to appear filed against them. Juveniles who fail to appear or who fail to pay their fine will be reported to the Department of Public Safety and their driver's license will be suspended. If they do not have a driver's license, they will not be able to obtain one until they have disposed of their case.


About

Jump to: Driving Directions

Department Overview

The Municipal Court is a statutory court created by the Texas Legislature. It has exclusive criminal jurisdiction over Class C misdemeanor cases arising out of the Transportation Code, Penal Code, Alcoholic Beverage Code, Education Code, Health & Safety Code, and the City Code of Ordinances that occur within the territorial limits of the city. In addition, the Municipal Court has limited civil jurisdiction for bond forfeitures, junked motor vehicle hearings, nuisance abatement hearings, stolen property hearings, cruelly-treated animal hearings, and dangerous dog hearings.

Purpose 

The primary purpose of the Municipal Court is to interpret laws and administer appropriate justice in a fair, impartial, and ethical manner while protecting individual’s rights, preserving public safety, protecting the quality of life, and deterring future criminal behavior.
The secondary purpose of the Municipal Court is to effectively and efficiently generate and process all cases filed with the Municipal Court.

Mission Statement

The Brenham Municipal Court’s mission is to provide access to a fair and impartial judicial system that is dedicated to administering justice with the utmost respect, integrity, and professionalism while providing excellent customer service in an effective and efficient manner so that public trust and confidence in the judicial system is upheld.

Address/Contact

Mailing:
PO Box 1059
Brenham, Texas 77834-1059

Physical: 
200 W. Vulcan St.
Brenham, Texas 77833

Phone/Fax Number
Municipal Court: 979-337-7599
City Marshal: 979-337-7501
Fax Number: 979-337-7504

Hours of Operation
8:00 am to 4:30 pm


Driving Directions to Brenham Municipal Court

200 W. Vulcan Street
Brenham, Texas 77833

Google Maps

I-10 in Sealy

Take the Hwy 36 North exit to Brenham. As you enter Brenham, you will come to a traffic light intersection with Hwy 290. Continue straight under the Hwy 290 overpass onto Day Street. Stay on Day Street until you reach a 4-way stop intersection with Tom Green Street. Turn right onto Tom Green Street. Go one block and turn left onto Austin Street. Drive several blocks until you reach a red light intersection. Proceed thru this intersection for two blocks and turn right onto Vulcan Street. City Hall is located immediately to your left after turning onto Vulcan Street. Look for signs as to where you should park.

Hwy 290 from Houston

Take Hwy 290 West to Brenham. As you approach Brenham, exit to the right on Business Exit 290. This will put you on Market Street. You will proceed on Market Street thru five (5) traffic light intersections. After the 5th light, you will go one block and turn left onto Vulcan Street. Drive on Vulcan Street until you see the Wells Fargo Bank sign. City Hall will be located to your right. Look for signs as to where you should park.

Hwy 290 from Austin

Take Hwy 290 East to Brenham. As you approach Brenham, continue straight onto Business Exit 290. This will put you on Main Street. Continue on Main Street thru the first traffic light intersection. Shortly after this intersection, Main Street will veer to the right and become a 2-lane, one-way street. Continue on this street until you reach the traffic light intersection at the railroad tracks. Turn left onto Austin Street at the railroad tracks. Go two blocks and turn right onto Vulcan Street. City Hall is located immediately to your left after turning onto Vulcan Street. Look for signs as to where you should park.

From Bryan/College Station

Take Hwy 60 towards Snook. Turn left onto Hwy 50. Turn right onto Hwy 105. Continue straight at the FM 577 and Hwy 105 intersection. This will put you on Academy Street. Continue straight on Academy Street. At the first traffic light intersection, turn left onto Austin Street. Turn left onto Vulcan Street just past the Brookshire Brothers grocery store. City Hall is located immediately to your left after turning onto Vulcan Street. Look for signs as to where you should park.